Near this site stood the farm house of Susanna Martin, the only woman hanged as a witch in Salem in 1692 who lived north of the Merrimack River. The Improvement Association placed this memorial in 1894. It is located at the end of North Martin Road. The plaque reads, “Here stood the house of Susanna Martin, an honest, hard-working Christian woman accused as a witch, tried and executed at Salem, July 19, 1692 a martyr of superstition, TIA 1894.” Note: The Association was sometimes referred to as the Town Improvement Association (TIA).
To read more about Susanna and her fascinating but tragic story visit the History of Massachusetts Blog which includes a picture of her memorial stone in Salem, MA.