Alliance Park

479A2579-4
The shady landscape of Alliance Park offers visitors a quiet and peaceful respite on the Merrimack River.

Alliance Park is located on Point Shore near 355 Main Street. In 1918, a fire destroyed the Kranz Coal wharf which was located at the junction of the Merrimack and Powwow Rivers. In 1920, AIA members William E. Biddle and Augustus N. Parry bought the land and donated it to the AIA to restore as a park and a memorial to the ships built here earlier. The Alliance, one of the first frigates built for the Revolutionary Navy, was built near here in the Daniel Webster shipyard in 1777–1778 and named in honor of the alliance between France and the American colonies. It is said to have carried General Lafayette across the Atlantic three times. For a time it served as John Paul Jones’ flagship. This property is owned and maintained by the Association as Alliance Park, a popular picnic and sight-seeing area.

There are two plaques commemorating ship building. The oldest one reads, “Alliance Park, near this site in 1777–1778 one of the first frigates of the Continental Congress, the Alliance was built by William and john Brackett. Land presented to the Amesbury Improvement Association on the occasion of Amesbury’s 325th anniversary of incorporation as a town, 1993.” A total of 28 shipbuilders are listed.

A memorial flagpole was erected in 1996 in memory of past Amesbury Improvement Association Presidents: Dr. Horace Leslie; Cyrus Rowell; Harris Chadwell, 1886–1927; Frank Hoyt, 1928–1965; Hawley Patten, 1965–1996.

Advertisement